Wayne State University

Aim Higher

Wayne State University

Public Relations

Media Report

March 14, 2013

Wayne State's Tamara Bray among educators named Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year


An association representing Michigan's 15 public universities has honored professors from Wayne State University, Michigan Technological University and the University of Michigan-Flint. The Presidents Council, State Universities of Michigan this week announced three faculty members at the schools received its annual Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year: Wayne State’s Tamara Bray, Michigan Tech's Will Cantrell, and the University of Michigan-Flint's Mojtaba Vaziri. Bray teaches anthropology and directs Wayne State's anthropology museum. The award, in its seventh year, recognizes outstanding contributions of faculty members at the 15 schools. The association says each university nominated a professor who has had a significant impact on student learning through research, advising and mentoring.


  • WOOD-TV ( Grand Rapids )
5700 Cass Avenue, 3100 Academic Administration Building * Detroit, Michigan 48202
Phone (313) 577-2150 * Fax (313) 577-4459 * Newsline (313) 577-5345