Wayne State University

Aim Higher

Wayne State University

Public Relations

News and Announcements

Vote for Dr. LoRusso for Researcher of the Year Award

April 2, 2013

Patricia LoRusso, D.O., professor of Oncology at the Wayne State University School of Medicine and director of the Eisenberg Center for Translational Therapeutics at the Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute, is one of only six researchers who have been nominated for the inaugural Researcher of the Year Award through The Gateway for Cancer Research.

The nonprofit organization based in Schaumburg, Ill., funds Phase I and Phase II cancer clinical trials across the world.

You can acknowledge Dr. LoRusso’s groundbreaking accomplishments by voting for her. Voting closes April 15.

The winner will receive $30,000 for cancer research projects and a commemorative award. Gateway will announce the winner at its annual meeting May 14 in Chicago among peers in the research community, members of Gateway’s Board of Directors and Board of Scientific Counselors, and Gateway supporters.

“With this award, our intent is to lift high the significant contributions and new treatment discoveries made by Gateway-funded researchers,” said Eveline Mumenthaler, director of research and grants at The Gateway for Cancer Research. “What’s more, this award brings to light the important and continued need for innovation in cancer research, while also celebrating the positive impact new discoveries have made to the lives of both cancer patients and their families.”

Nominees include clinical investigators who are currently funded by Gateway or have previously received a Gateway grant, are committed to discovering new treatments, and have made measureable and impactful contributions to the field of cancer research with the goal to improve the lives of today’s cancer patients.

5700 Cass Avenue, 3100 Academic Administration Building * Detroit, Michigan 48202
Phone (313) 577-8155 * Fax (313) 577-4459 * Newsline (313) 577-5345